Skip to main content
Independent news from the heart of Darfur and Sudan
Watch live

All presidential candidates in Sudan announced

January 28 - 2010 KHARTOUM

The National Election Commission (NEC) announced yesterday the final list of thirteen presidential candidates in the race for the presidency. This list came after a five days extension of the nominations period, to allow all candidates a chance to meet the requirements. There are some days left to appeal against  the candidates. The names are listed in order of appearance:

1 Omar Al Bashir, National Congress Party (NCP)

2 Abdallah Deng Nyal, Popular Congress Party (PCP)

3 Mohamed Ahmed Jiha, independent candidate

4 Abdallah Ali Ibrahim, independent candidate

5 Muhbarak al Fadil al Mahdi, Umma Party – Reform

6 Mohamed Ibrahim Nogud, Communist Party (CP)

7 Moni Shekhaldin, New National Democratic Party (NNDP)

8 Yasir Said Arman, Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM)

9  Abdel Aziz Khalid, Sudanese National Coalition (SNC)

10 Sadiq al Mahdi, Umma Party

11 Hatim al Sir, Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)

12 Kamil Idriss, independent candidate

13 Fatima Abdel Mahmoud, Socialist Union (SU)

Back to overview