Skip to main content
Independent news from the heart of Sudan
Watch live

DOHA: Darfur peace proposals accepted by LJM rebel coalition

January 4 - 2011 DOHA

Dr. Tijani Sese, President of the Liberation and Justice Movement, told Radio Dabanga that the movement has approved the proposals of the mediation to resolve the outstanding contentious issues with the government. The rebel coalition accepted a compromise package of proposals by the mediation on the issues of the administrative status of Darfur, the rebels’ participation in the institution of the presidency, compensation and other points.Other proposals by the mediation include $300 million for compensation of families of victims of atrocities, and special hybrid courts to try war crimes, which will have a two year mandate and will apply international humanitarian law. It is not yet known whether the Sudanese government has accepted these proposals. The government last week pulled its delegation from the Doha talks, while still leaving the door open to return.

A crux of the peace deal – and also a potential point of bickering within the rebel ranks – is the participation in the institution of the presidency. Under Sudan’s current constitution – which is set to expire on 9 July 2011 – the three-man presidency consists of the president and two deputies of unequal rank. The sitting first vice president, Salva Kiir Mayardit, appears unlikely to continue in the role given the impending vote on the secession of South Sudan.

The LJM chief refused to disclose the content of the mediation’s proposals. He said that his movement approved them after a meeting of its leadership. He explained that the movement is now waiting to be asked to sign the final peace document. Radio Dabanga learnt that the mediation proposed that the dispute over the administrative status of Darfur be resolved by maintaining the state governments while also establishing a Darfur Regional Authority for a period of five years. The Executive Council of the regional government will consist of a council of 18 ministers and advisors.

Photo: Amin Hassan Omar, the government delegation's spokesman (left) and Tijani Sese, LJM chief


Back to overview