Skip to main content
Independent news from the heart of Sudan
Watch live

Rebels 'attack military garrison in South Darfur'

January 13 - 2014 SUNTA

The Liberation Movement for Justice (LMJ) presided by Taher Hajar (militarily led by Ali Karbino) announced it attacked this afternoon (Monday) the Sunta military garrison in South Darfur. More than 13 Sudanese Armed Forces (SAF) and militia troops were allegedly killed.

The spokesman for the LJM, Mohammed Ahmed Yagoub, reported to Radio Dabanga that LJM troops at about 2pm attacked the SAF garrison, the offices of the local Security Forces and of the paramilitary Popular Defence Forces (PDF) office, and the main police station in Sunta locality.

According to Yagoub, the attack resulted in the deaths of more 13 Sudanese army and militia troops, and the seizure of eight vehicles loaded with weapons, including the vehicle of the Sunta commissioner, in addition to large quantities of ammunition and food supplies. The military garrison was destroyed.

Witnesses from the locality told Radio Dabanga on Monday afternoon that armed rebel forces took control of Sunta authorities offices for some time. They seized the vehicle of the commissioner, two PDF vehicles, and two vehicles of the Central Reserve Forces military police (known as Abu Tira). The sources could not give exact details about the number of casualties.

They confirmed that the rebel forces targeted the police station, the offices of the Sunta authorities and the PDF. The rebels took control of these places “for some time”, stirring fear and terror among the people living in the area. The Sunta town market was closed.

In the end of 2013, the LMJ elected Taher Hajar as its president. It was agreed that military leader Ali Karbino would continue to command the LMJ forces in the field.

File photo


Rebel forces destroy garrison, shell another in South Kordofan: SPLM-N spokesman (8 January 2014)

Rebels claim attack on North Darfur military garrison (30 December 2013)

Rebels claim control of garrison in South Darfur (24 December 2013)


Back to overview